Made For A King
Close Up

A Vast Improvement

I’ve never worked on something that was so terrible in its’ before stage, before. This was a desk given to a coworker of mine by another coworker of mine. It is a good sixty years old, had been painted three times, the last of which was HIDEOUS! It was an obnoxious green, and apparently matched someone’s dinosaur themed room.

Before

Not only was it bad, but it had been painted badly. We scraped the paint off with putty knives, and it came off way too easily (which was nice for me). Here is a better picture of what the color looked like.

Side View

Here is my husband and father-in-law being so kind and helping me scrape it!

The coworker, Sherry, that I was painting the desk for wanted it to be the same color as the dresser I did this summer. She is going to use it as a vanity in her bedroom. So I started painting. And painting. And painting. It took FOREVER to cover the paint that wouldn’t scrape off. (I sanded and primed it, so my paint would stay) Also, because it is cold outside now, it didn’t go on so smoothly.

When I finally got the body of the desk done, I brought the drawers inside and downstairs so I could paint them in the warmth of my bathroom. Once I got the base coat on the drawers, I stenciled using three beautiful stencil designs (Martha Stewart from Michaels) and my ASCP Old White.

These are the three different stencils I used.

These are the three different stencils I used.

The handles that came with the desk didn’t look very good with the new paint, and they would need a lot of cleaning and polishing to look good again so I decided to paint them and make them look antique. I painted them the same white as the stencil, and then I sanded them down to let the gold show through.

How I Painted the Handles

Once I had the handles on, the drawers back in, and everything else done I decided to do a stencil across the top. Then it was finished!

View of the Top

I am in love with how it turned out. Especially with how terrible it looked when I started.

After! I am glad that Sherry likes it, as well. It will look nice in her room and it will make a really pretty vanity! Nine drawers for makeup, jewelry and hair accessories. What more could you want?

All of the Drawers

And one more time, the whole thing. Cause it looks so good!

After + Top

Click HERE to see the awesome parties I am linking up with!

Thanks for stopping by! Have a great day!

-Kirsten

This entry was published on December 1, 2012 at 10:51 pm. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

27 thoughts on “A Vast Improvement

  1. This is awesome! Well done!
    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

  2. That is an amazing transformation. I love the stencils. That is something I am thinking of trying on my next furniture transformation. Thanks for sharing x

  3. Very nice transformation…Sherry must be very happy!

  4. great job its looks so pretty now

  5. Beautiful job, Kirsten! I love the transformation. The paint color is beautiful, the stencils add so much, and the handles look fabulous! It looks great!

  6. beautiful job! those painted details give it some nice femininity!

  7. wow! What a transformation. I don’t have vision like that. I see an ugly old desk, you see this beautiful finished vanity! Absolutely gorgeous!

    • Beth, thank you for your sweet comment! I will admit I had some trouble envisioning this desk being beautiful ever again. It took me a week to think of what I would do with it.
      Thank you so much!

  8. Very cute, i love the everything about it but especially the handles

  9. so feminine and chic! bravo.

    hope you’ll have a moment to stop by where i have a giveaway today
    http://hellolovelyinc.blogspot.com/2012/12/swedish-style-katrin-cargill.html

    peace to you.

    michele

    p.s.
    the title of your blog is brilliant

  10. Amazing transformation, Kirsten!! I would love for you to link this post to my Tasty Thursdays linky party going on right now. Thanks, Nichi http://mandatorymooch.blogspot.com/2012/12/tasty-thursdays-20.html

  11. That is so pretty! I have the exact stencil and haven’t found anything to use it on. It’s nice to see it on the desk since I just picked up a similar one yesterday. Very nice job!

  12. Oh my this is gorgeous! Featuring on Tuesday.

  13. Wow! This is an amazing transformation and it’s beautiful! I love the color you chose and the stencil. Found you at DIY Showoff!! :)

  14. Just gorgeous! I have a desk I would like to do something similar on…

  15. Fabulous transformation. Do you have a Facebook page? http://www.facebook.com/ArtyChokesDecor

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 743 other followers

