Made For A King
Finished DIY Headboard!

Bedroom (not really) Update

I guess it can’t be called an update since I have never shown it to you before, but to me it is definitely an update. Let me paint the picture for you: cold cinderblock walls (that you aren’t allowed to drill holes into) and hideous carpet. The wonderful thing about my room is that my lovely husband gave me the closet, and he took the one in the spare bedroom. Look how awesome!

AMAZING closet

Okay, back to the real reason for this post. My semi-update. My husband and I made the most beautiful headboard for our bed. It is so classy and chic and I love it to pieces. Here is the process:

cutting the holes out

We bought a large piece of OSB (yeah, the cheap stuff. who cares?! no one sees it!) from Lowes. Since we don’t have a truck, we had to cut the board in half to get it home, which meant my husband had to put it back together before we could do anything. I wanted it to look like one I had seen when I googled DIY Headboard, so we ended up cutting out the corners. I traced where I wanted and he jigsawed it out on our balcony.

2013-02-02 19.12.12

Next came covering it. I got the batting for half off, so I was able to put three layers on to make it soft and cushy. It was pure luck, JoAnns was having a sale and it was 50% off! NICE!

Covered

Here is how it looked after three layers of batting.

2013-02-02 21.12.06

Next came the fabric. We were lucky again, because JoAnns had all of their home decorating fabric for 60% off! Gotta love that! This part was harder than the batting, mostly because it did’nt stretch at all. It worked well for the most part.

2013-02-02 21.20.15

(see how we put it back together? sneaky sneaky!) I don’t know how I could have done it better, but there was quite a bit of challenge in pulling the fabric tight on those cut-outs that I made him do. There were lots of puckers.

oops

I was really concerned about that, but my husband assured me that the nail head trim would completely hide it.

2013-02-03 13.24.57

To do the trim (at first) I just measured down how low I wanted it with the painters tape, and then I measured out the spacing for the nail heads and marked the tape. I thought I was a genius!  I wasn’t…

2013-02-03 15.58.50

Real Talk Right Here:MY NAIL HEADS WERE TERRIBLE! I hated the puckering, and I couldn’t for the life of me get them to be in a straight line! They started out straight, but I wasn’t so great at the hammering part so they would bend and it was so crooked. I hated it, but I really thought I would have to live with it.

Then, when we went to buy more nail heads, we saw a package of pre-spaced nail heads with holes on every fifth or sixth one so you could just hammer it in. SO much easier! Here is what it looks like when you buy it.

Nail Head Trim

I bought them. I didn’t even care if that was cheating. They are straight and beautiful and almost impossible to screw up.

IMAG0333

There, see? SO much better. Straight and gorgeous and perfect. See how cute it looks with my little blue nightstand?

IMAG0335

You can see I’m trying, right? There isn’t much to work with, but we really are trying to make this apartment into a home. We can’t paint, or hang things but we are doing what we can. The headboard takes up a nice amount of wall space, and it adds significant warmth to the room. 

So there, my almost (not really) bedroom update. Even though you can’t see a before, I am sure you can still see the improvement! Click my Link Parties tab to see where I will be linking!

Have a great day!

-Kirsten

This entry was published on February 6, 2013 at 2:55 am. It’s filed under Projects, Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

27 thoughts on “Bedroom (not really) Update

  1. jennie on said:

    Love to see all the fun things you do!

  2. You are so great! My interior designer bestie! PS where did you get all of those cute pillows? Those stupid little things are sooo expensive! I love them. Gorg!

  3. Wonderful job on the headboard. It really seems to diminish the look of the cinder block.

  4. i can’t even believe your closet! how did you do those shoe cubbies? my shoe obsession has taken over our clostet….everytime i see a fabulous headboard i want to do one myself. it looks soooo good!!

  5. You did a fabulous job on your headboard, so pretty.!
    Jeannie

  6. I love this project, it turned out gorgeous!

    xo, Tanya

  7. Love this! Pinning it to my bedroom board. Excellent color too!

  8. Hi, I’m visiting from The Shabby Nest Frugal Friday. I’m sure you know that comparable headboards go for SEVERAL hundreds of dollars. Wow, so nice to have a handy hubby and your own self to do the batting and fabric stretching. I’ve heard of those upholsterer’s tack “row” things — not sure what to call them. I saw a project one time a year or so ago on the internet where a woman decorated her dining room celing with them and it was TRES gorgeous. But a ton of work, no lie, and she even said so, with her ever-so-sore neck after spending countless hours up and down a ladder first drawing out the pattern and then tacking up the strips of tacks! Oy! Your headboard is beautiful and your bed is first class decorator, could grace the cover of any decor magazine, for sure. Okay, I confess, I haven’t looked why you’re living in what looks like an atomic bomb bunker from the 1950′s. I mean – CINDERBLOCK walls? And you can’t cover them up?

    Here’s a “what if” – just entered my head now. At first I thought maybe you could just hang scads of cheescloth from cuphooks screwed in the ceiling to cover those walls and you could just patch over the little tiny holes the cuphooks make before you move, but if you can’t even use cuphooks in the ceiling…then I thought about using those long commercial poles that holds photographer’s background papers, stretched from end to end, but I expect those would be pricey. Ach! So, here’s a totally crazy idea. I don’t know what your budget is, I was thinking angling drywall around the room and treating the drywall as sort of “removable walls” and decorate accordingly, paint, wallpaper, hang cloth — whatever. But drywall may be too expensive, so what if you somehow managed to rig together cut down heavy-duty cardboard boxes and place them up as “temporary walls”?

    A really off the wall idea (literally) — tree branches (?) or 2 x 4s planted in sand-filled pots positioned at each of the corners of your room, as tall as your walls; sandwich room width branches across the tops of those “branches” or if you’re using 2 x 4′s, nail cross beams — what i’m thinking of is building a room within a room, so to speak. Am I making sense? Sorry to carry on so, you have spurred my imagination. Good luck and good decorating!

  9. WOW Jan!! I really appreciate your sweet comment and these wonderful suggestions! You are so funny, it really does look like an atomic bomb bunker, feels like it too. That ceiling thing sounds awesome!
    We can’t do anything to the walls because it is a student apartment just off campus of BYU (where I go to school) but LUCKILY it is only temporary. We moved in here knowing that we wouldn’t be staying more than 4-6 months. My husband promised me (because I cried when we moved in). I really like your temporary fix ideas though! I will have to think about that.
    Seriously, I loved this comment. Your compliments were so sweet and I love that you took time to give me some ideas! LOVED this, thank you!

  10. Kristen, you guys did a great job on the headboard! The bed looks super comfy now! Lucky girl with the closet too ;)

  11. This is fabulous, I love it! I’ll keep this in mind, I’m sure I’ll have to do this at some point. Love it!

  12. Looks amazing! Featuring this tonight as the week’s most popular link! Love what you created!
    Stacey

  13. danandmariel on said:

    Very pretty! I would love for you to share this or any of your great ideas at the link party going on now (and every Saturday through Tuesday) at ‘Or so she says …’ Hope to see you there! http://www.oneshetwoshe.com

  14. Your headboard is fabulous!! Great job!! I would have done the same thing with the trim.
    Ruth

  15. So classy! Love the royal blue color. I saw this on Or So She Says. Thanks for sharing!

  16. This looks great. I love the colors, it all came together perfect. Also, your closet is awesome. I see you really like shoes too. Fun, fun, fun. :o)

    We would like to invite you to link up with us at our party. It goes live tonight: http://thebusybhive.blogspot.com/

    Thanks!!
    The Busy Bee’s,
    Myrna and Joye.

  17. It’s gorgeous, Kirsten! Wow! I’m including a link back in this week’s highlights. Thanks for sharing your DIY. I love it!

  18. What a beautiful headboard! It turned out fantastic. Thanks for sharing at I Made It! Monday. Can’t wait to see what you link up this week.

  19. Angie on said:

    This gives me courage. I have been dreaming of an upholstered headboard. Thank you, you make it look attainable. Yours turned out beautiful so thank you for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 742 other followers

