Made For A King

The Beginning.

It all started with a post on pinterest. I read a blog on how to chalk paint an old mirror to make it look antique. In my head I thought “Oh, cool. I’ll pick some of that up at Home Depot.”

Nope. That is not how it works. There are only a few retailers across the country that carry it. You can buy it online! But you have to pay 20 bucks for shipping (and it is 35$ for a quart) so that isn’t the ideal option.

My mom and I found a retailer in Texas so we got a little bit of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint – and I bought one of her books on how to paint furniture – I was so excited! My dad was making some large picture frames out of molding for my wedding reception and I decided I wanted to paint them. I painted the base coat with just a flat, grey Behr sample from Lowes, and then Chalk Painted over top with either Paris Grey or French Linen.

I loved painting them so much! I love the shabby chic look, and I liked distressing them to make them look older. They looked beautiful at the reception.

And thus, my obsession began.

This entry was published on July 13, 2012 at 1:48 am. It’s filed under Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

