Made For A King

On a Budget

As young newlyweds, we are trying to save money (read: dirt poor). I read a blog about making your own chalk paint! Intrigued, I thought I would give it a try.

Home Depot and Lowes weren’t much help. I tried looking for unsanded grout for a reasonable price, but it was thirty dollars for a giant bag! I only needed a tbsp!  The blog also said calcium carbonate and whiting powder are effective. But if there is one thing West Virginia doesn’t have, it is health food stores, and I was too impatient to wait for something to come in online. I ended up going with the Plaster of Paris.

It was five dollars at my local craft store – not bad! And I grabbed a paint sample from Home Depot that I thought looked similar to ASCP’s Duck Egg.

My mom had picked up this adorable decorative wall shelf from Goodwill that someone had painted brown. I wish I had a before picture but I didn’t think to take one.

The homemade chalk paint mixed VERY thick, so I painted a pretty gross coat onto the shelf. It took forever to dry, and didn’t cover anything so I tried to paint a thin coat on top. After that, I attacked it with my sanding sponge. I loved the way it looked, but it wasn’t very easy to distress. Once I had it how I wanted, I applied a thin layer of Dark Brown Briwax that I got on Amazon.com.

I rather liked the way it turned out, and because it was such a small thing, it was okay that it was hard to do. But I think that for a nice piece of furniture it is worth it to pay the 35$ for Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint. She knows what she is doing. I do think my shelf is really cute though!

This entry was published on July 14, 2012 at 12:08 am. It’s filed under Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

