Made For A King

Gorgeous Dresser

I bought this dresser from a thrift store in Morgantown, West Virginia (about forty-five minutes away from where I live). Unfortunately for me, we didn’t have a way to pick it up for THREE WEEKS so I had to wait a long time to paint this one. The guy that owned the thrift store was SUPER nice, and he gave me a good deal on it. He said it had been in the shop for a long time – the top was scratched, burned and otherwise marked on. It didn’t bother me, because I knew I could fix it, and it was gorgeous.

This dresser is pretty old. It is good, solid wood. Dove tail drawers, and made by Broyhill! So you know it is quality furniture.

I had three weeks to think about what I was going to do with it, so I was anxious to get started. First I stripped the top, which was really hard to do! With all the scratches and ridges and dark spots, it took a lot to get it off! Seriously, a couple of hours and a sore back the next morning. Luckily my darling sister-in-law kept me company outside.

I stained the wood with Minwax Dark Walnut, and it took a couple of coats to get it as dark as I wanted. Then I put a clear top coat on and let that dry. I was pleased with how it was looking already.

After taking the drawers out and giving them a thorough cleaning, (they were lined with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle paper, I am so mad at myself for not taking a picture. It was hilarious) I painted the first coat of grey. I also did a coat on the rest of the dresser. My husband had unscrewed the handles and spray-painted them with Oil Rubbed Bronze paint. We let all of that dry over night and I did a second coat the next day. Then came waxing!

This picture illustrates the difference between an unwaxed drawer and one that had received the wax treatment. I used my Briwax Dark Wax and then used an old t-shirt dipped in clear furniture paste wax. It is seriously like an eraser!

So here is another picture illustrating the difference! I love how using the wax makes the details pop! They were hardly noticeable when the dresser was just wood.

All I had to do then, was put it all together and do a couple of touch-ups! Here are a few pictures with it all finished!

Close up of it all put together.

This picture shows what the wax looks like close up, and also shows how cute the legs are on this piece!

And here it is, one last time, the whole thing!

Have a lovely day!

-Kirsten

 

Linking up with: DIY Showoff – Embracing Change52 MantelsMiss Mustard Seed
This entry was published on August 8, 2012 at 12:03 am. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects, Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Gorgeous Dresser

  1. Nice to meet you Kirsten.
    I love what you did with the dresser!
    Deb@LakeGirlPaints

  2. You did a beautiful job. That is a dresser that would be beautiful in so many settings. The new paint and wax surely do show off those amazing details. Gorgeous!

  3. This is gorgeeeeous. I love that you were able to keep the original hardware..it’s really adds the most character to the piece. 🙂

  4. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. on said:

    What a great find and so pretty now! And you are right, I didn’t even notice the details in the before shot!

  5. The dresser is gorgeous with so man lovely details! I like the unique way you treated the drawer pulls! I have been looking for one forever! I would be delighted for you to share this at Potpourri Friday, in progress!

  6. Hi! I’m stopping back by to say thank you for sharing your gorgeous project at Potpourri Friday! Hoping you will make it a weekly or regular party stop!

  7. that is just stunning! i love the darker color- the details look so much better now!

  8. Pingback: A Vast Improvement « Made For A King

Leave a Reply

