Made For A King

Painted Lamp & Shade

It was too cold outside today to work on my china cabinet (weird) so I found something to do inside instead!

So, we have this lamp. I wanted to replace it and I’ve been looking at lamps for a few weeks every time we go to Marshalls or Target. I found the one I wanted but it was forty dollars and BJ would not hear of it! So I decided that I would paint his instead. It was gold and dark brown and didn’t match at all!

 

First I took off the lamp shade, taped off a few things, and then spray painted the entire thing silver.

While letting that dry, I decided to replace the shade with a white one I already had, and I painted it as well. I taped off the edges and then used a rose stencil that I got from AC Moore.

I used my ASCP Provence sample and a foam brush to paint the shade. When the base was dry, I used the Provence on that as well. Every other section got some Paris Grey and then I distressed the edges a bit.


It was a process that didn’t take too long at all, and I watched Netflix the whole time. Nice way to spend my Saturday! Now I am going on a date with my husband!

– Kirsten

 

 

 

This entry was published on August 11, 2012 at 10:13 pm. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Painted Lamp & Shade

  1. What a great update. love the color you chose

  2. Perfect! Don’t you love that you can finish a project in a day with AS paint! Thanks for sharing!

  3. This is beautiful. I have a link party on Wednesdays, and I would love it if you would link this post. It is called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Link Party.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2012/08/pink-honey-beeswax-lip-balm-and.html
    I hope to see you there. Have a great Day.
    Debi Bolocofsky
    Adorned From Above
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

  4. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. on said:

    That is so cute! And thrifty too!

  5. I am so glad I saw your awesome lamp makeover tonight! I have to tackle a lamp redo myself and your creativity gave me inspiration–thanks!

  6. It looks great. Any idea if painting an old silk lampshade would work?

Leave a Reply

