Made For A King

Little Blue Nightstand

 

The china cabinet I have been working on is taking FOREVER!!! So, I decided to finish another project so I could update the ol’ blog here.

My lovely Grandmother has given me yet another piece of furniture to work on. I got a nightstand last weekend when we went up to see her.

This is what it looked like before. It was actually in good shape! That was a nice change of pace, after working for two straight weeks on that dumb hutch! I didn’t know what I wanted to do with this, though. So I painted it in ASCP Aubusson Blue and went to bed to think about it.

I tried a couple of different things, but I didn’t like any of them. So I painted it all in Aubusson again and went to bed to think about it. The next morning I knew! I wanted to paint Louis Blue over it and distress it a bit. This is how it turned out! I love it.

 

I love the details on this!

I spray painted the knob with oil-rubbed bronze, and then used my finger to paint it with the Aubusson blue.

I love it! I think it turned out nicely, and it is nice to finally see something finished. Expect to see the china cabinet in the next couple of days! Thanks for stopping by!

-Kirsten

 

This entry was published on August 29, 2012 at 1:12 am. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Little Blue Nightstand

  1. Wow this came out sooo nicely! I really love it! I just finished my first project with ASCP, check it out if you want- http://azcubed.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/refinished-farmhouse-hutch-with-tutorial/ I definitely had my ups and downs, but I like the way it ended up turning out!

  2. Love that idea!
    The color is beautiful,
    Deb@LakeGirlPaints

  3. That’s awesome! How do you learn this stuff? From your dad? I have an old wooden dresser, where do I start? Any pointers?

    • Some of it I have learned from my dad! Some of it I have read on different blogs or watched youtube videos. Other things I just do because I want to! ha.
      I would first choose what style you want it to look like, then choose a color and start painting! Personally, I like when it looks antique (with the distressing on the edges) but there are a lot of choices.
      Start looking on pinterest or in magazines or online at blogs and pick out what you like.

  4. iplayoutsidethebox on said:

    So pretty!!

  5. Nice job! It looks pretty 🙂

  6. I love this! I bought a desk and I’ve been itching to paint it. It might very well end up blue like yours. Great work!

Leave a Reply

