Made For A King

Tea, anyone?

So, it has been a long time since I have posted anything. I feel like I’ve been slacking, but really I’ve just been so busy!  It feels nice to have finished something. There is an awesome lady at my work who just got a new dining room set and gave me certain pieces of the old one. Here is an antique-style tea cart that I finished up this weekend.

I don’t exactly have a before picture. I had my husband turn it upside-down so I could paint the wheels, and then I remembered I had to take one but I couldn’t turn it back over by myself. This is the best I could do (and yes, that is my bathroom).

The wood was all nicked and scratched up, but it was structurally sound and nothing a little paint couldn’t fix. The whole body is painted with Annie Sloan’s Florence. Next, I decided to stencil the top.

I thought that I had bought Martha Stewart stencils from Michaels, but I had accidentally bought silk screens. I was a little nervous to use them, but it was SO easy! I fell in love, and now I want all of them. They create a really cool texture, and they are reusable and all around just great. I also used her pearl paint to do the pink, and Royal Design Studios copper stencil creme for the leaves. Here is how it looked when the whole top was done.

When it was done, I loved the way it looked, but I thought the rest was a little boring. I decided to use some dark wax to antique it a little. I love how it turned out!

Sorry it looks so blurry. It isn’t in real life.

Isn’t it beautiful?

Another cool thing I did, so that the drawer pull would match, is use the stencil creme from Royal Design Studios to paint the handle.

Here it is with the ends unfolded. It makes an actual table.

And there it is! It is a really cool piece of furniture. I love the legs and the wheels. I love the silk screen stencils I got to use! I love the colors together. I am very pleased with how it all turned out. What do you think?

-Kirsten

This entry was published on September 24, 2012 at 11:55 pm. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Tea, anyone?

  1. Love the color of this cart and really love the variety of colors in the stencilling!
    Great job!

  2. Very Bohemian, I love it!!!

  3. This is so boho chic love it the colors you chose are beautiful!!f
    Sherry

  4. Your teacart is adorable! I would be delighted for you to link to Potpourri Friday, in progress!

Leave a Reply

