Made For A King

FINALLY

Anyone who reads this knows that I have been working on a china cabinet for forever now. I ran into so many problems with it. I didn’t realize when I sent my husband to buy it that it wasn’t real wood. I also didn’t realize that it was so beat up. It had water damage on the top, so the veneer was chipping. I had to putty a bunch of places, caulk it all over. Most of the outer hardware was good, but the inside (the magnetic stoppers and the hinges and that sort of thing) needed repaired. The cabinets didn’t hang on straight so my husband had to fix that. It was missing glass, and I wanted to do that thing where you put chicken wire in it, but it didn’t work. We had to have more glass cut. It took me about two months, which is sad because everything else usually takes me a week at the most.

This is what it looked like when we got it!

It was pretty beat up. In the next one you can see where it was chipping from the water damage. We had to sand all of it off, and I used the Rock Hard Putty to smooth it all out.

It was like that on the entire top. Not very fun to try and fix… But in the end it was worth it. Maybe? I really hate this thing now, even though I think it turned out well.

The outside is painted in ASCP Old White, while the inside of everything is Duck Egg. You almost can’t tell the inside is blue, so I took a few pictures to show that.

This is the inside of the top. The shelves are white and the back is blue. I also painted the inside of the cabinets and drawers on the bottom.

The drawer handles and the cabinet pulls were all useable, I just had to spray paint them silver. Then I antiqued them a bit.

I was very lucky to find a cabinet pull for the top that matched the two on the bottom. I looked for a very long time, but I found one on Lowes.com and had it shipped to my store.

So all in all, I think it is nice. I think it looks very pretty. I like the colors together. I am glad we got the glass cut to fit. I will be very glad to get rid of it and never look at it again.

Here it is one more time!

Click here to see which parties I am linking to.

Have a nice day!

-Kirsten

This entry was published on October 22, 2012 at 2:15 am. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

15 thoughts on “FINALLY

  1. Looks beautiful!

  2. oooh, just gorgeous. It’s like it got a facelift that took 100 years off! Great job Kirsten!

  3. beautiful job! the color inside is gorgeous!

  4. Oh dear…I feel for ya! I know how it feels to put a whole lot of time and effort into a piece that you’re not sure deserves it! But it’s a beauty now, and someone is sure to fall in love with it! All of the hard, tedious work will soon be a distant memory when you’re holding that paycheck in your hands! Best Wishes and Blessings,
    Amanda

  5. It is gorgeous Kirsten, I am always looking for something like this to makeover, but pickings are slim where I live, it’s also pretty big to try to sneak into the house, ha ha. You did a great job and in the end it looks well worth it. Thanks for visiting my blog and your kind comments.
    Faye

  6. It turned out amazing! I just bought a similar hutch and can’t wait to make it over for my dining room… hopefully it won’t be a bear for me like yours was!

  7. Aamzing job! I completed a china cabinet project too…it is hard work let me tell you! I haven’t musterd up enough desire to do another one yet! Yours is stunning! Bragging about you on my Facebook page today! Thanks for linking up!
    Stacey of Embracing Change

    • I saw that because I follow your facebook, thank you so much!!! That was a nice surprise to see on my news feed. And thank you so much for your sweet comment, I love your blog! I’ll always link up.

  8. This is so beautiful! My mom has an old piece collecting dust in her basement I might just have to steal and beautify now that I have this to inspire me!

  9. WOW! What a transformation. It’s gorgeous!

    Katie
    http://www.funhomethings.com

  10. I had to laugh when I saw this because I think I have the matching “Queen”. Yes, I “scored” her for $40 on Craigslist, but when I got her home, same issues…chunks of veneer missing, gorgeous french curves on top not real wood, splitting veneer, plexiglass shelves that didn’t even fit well. I spent so many hours putting her back together that I was literally ready to get rid of her. But a funny thing happened….while waiting for her to sell, I figured I might as well put my collection of white milkglass inside…and I fell in love and decided to keep her, quirks and all 🙂
    BTW, she is white, with a paris grey interior…seriously could be married to yours 🙂 maybe they’ll meet one day 🙂
    Cindy

    • Oh my gosh, that is too funny!!! I loved that. I’m glad that yours worked out, and I would possibly consider keeping mine if I had a dining room or anywhere to put it! I’ll have to come check yours out!

Leave a Reply

