Made For A King

Jumping on the bandwagon..

The chalkboard bandwagon, that is. I’ve seen so many cute chalkboards all over DIY blogs, but I never cared to do one until now. My Grandma gave me an old calendar frame she had, and she thought it would make a really cute chalkboard.

I agreed, so I gave in and bought a can of Rust-oleum chalkboard spray paint. It still took me awhile to actually begin this project, but when it was snowing outside due to Hurricane Sandy, I had the perfect excuse.

This is how it looked when I got it:

It literally just hung on the wall, and you put the calendar inside.

I decided, since it was going to be a chalkboard, I was going to paint the bottom coat ASCP in Graphite. The top coat is a nice mix of ASCP in Antibes, and Cece Caldwell in Santa Fe Turquoise. I painted it with a technique I learned from Deb, at Lake Girl Paints. She dips one side of the brush in one color, and the other side in another. It looked really cool, so I went with it!

I didn’t paint a thick coat, because I wanted the Graphite to show through. It made it so I didn’t have to distress it too much. It already looked mostly how I wanted it to.

My baby cut me a nice piece of wood to spray paint, and I did three thin, even coats. Something weird happened, and I had to sand it in between coats because it was really bumpy. In the end, it worked out.

And here it is!! All done! I like the colors, I like how bright they look next to the black of the chalkboard.

I’ll show you a close up of the details:

So there it is. A DIY chalkboard. I actually like it more than I thought I would! I think it will be cute on my wall. Also, it was nice to have something I could do inside while there was a blizzard outside!

Have a nice day!

-Kirsten

This entry was published on November 10, 2012 at 8:37 pm. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects, Tutorial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Jumping on the bandwagon..

  1. This turned out AWESOME!! I really love the contrast of the green and black, great work!

  2. beautiful job! i love the color!

  3. Kirsten, thank you so much for Linking Up to our Link Party! We love your work & thrilled to share your talents. Have a great day!

  4. Love the colour combo you used. I’ve found that MDF makes the best chalkboard … smooth to start off with, so no pesky sanding.

Leave a Reply

