Made For A King

The Merriest Christmas

We had such a wonderful surprise this Christmas! My older brother proposed to his girlfriend, and I am so happy for them! It was a great day, and I was so grateful to spend it with my entire family.

This Christmas was also the first for me and my husband, and it snowed!! In Texas!!! We all had a lovely day.

I also wanted to share a DIY Nativity Project that I made for my Mother for Christmas. It was very easy to do, and it turned out beautifully.

Materials Needed

My dad and husband helped me to cut the wooden blocks that I needed. For the nativity, I used the stencil cutter that I bought from Michaels and blank plastic stencils from AC Moore. It was AMAZING! Coolest thing I have ever purchased! It literally cut like butter because it uses heat. All I had to do was tape the nativity I had drawn to the back of a blank stencil, and traced around the edges with the cutting tool.

StencilThen I painted the wood black, sanded the edges, and then used the stencil to paint the Mary, Joseph and Baby Jesus, the stable, and the star.

The Process

The only difficulty was paint seeping under the stencil. I didn’t use any spray adhesive like I usually do with a stencil, and it was so thin. I was able to fix the edges a little with left over black paint. I finished it with a little ASCP Dark Wax. Buffed to a shine, it gave it a nice finish. I was so incredibly happy with how it turned out!

The Final Product

So here it is, in its’ new place on my mother’s mantle! She loved it! Even cried a little. It was so easy to do, and it looks so good! I think I will make one for myself.

A Merry Christmas, from my family to yours.

-Kirsten

This entry was published on December 26, 2012 at 1:27 am. It’s filed under Projects, Tutorial and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “The Merriest Christmas

  1. Beautiful! I had no idea you could make your own stencils!? Awesome.

Leave a Reply

