Made For A King

Small Improvements

They can make all the difference!

We have just moved into our new apartment, and the place is slightly sad and very old. We are, however, making the best of it! I have spent all my free time trying to make things more like home. I will put some pictures up later of what we have done with everything! For now, I want to share with you a small project I did with my day off yesterday.

First of all, I love Martha Stewart and her new craft-paint line at Michaels. Also, I love my Gramma for giving me Michaels gift cards for Christmas. Lastly, I love my husband for “letting” me do this!

Here are all of the materials you need to give your glasses (drinking, not eye) a face-lift.

Materials Needed

There are the clean drinking glasses, small paint brushes, Martha Stewart glass paint (I used Sea Glass and Cement), and the stencil (or in my case, a Martha Stewart adhesive silk-screen stencil) and of course some entertainment. I’ve been watching all the SVUs on Netflix.

Adhesive Silk Screen

This is one of the four stencils I chose to use on my glasses. I wanted to use four different stencils, and the two different colors, so I ended up dividing the twelve glasses so that there were three to a stencil.

You can paint it as messy as you want, the paint doesn’t go through the blue at all. And because it is adhesive, there is little to no bleed-through. I had one issue with the first glass I painted, and once it dried for a half hour I actually just scratched off the extra with my fingernail since it hadn’t cured yet.

Four Different Designs

Here are the four different stencils I used. And of course, a close up:

Close Up

Once they have all sat out and dried for an hour or so (I don’t think I did this, but the directions say to) you can either put them in the oven for 30 minutes, or let them dry for 21 days. Haha! I definitely baked mine.

In the oven!

All I did was put them on a cookie sheet in the cold oven, set the temperature to 350 and let them gradually heat up while I set my timer for 30 minutes. Directions say not to put them directly into a hot oven so they don’t shatter. Once the timer goes off, turn off the heat and open the oven so they can slowly cool down.

Then, you have to wait 3 days to use them. But that is better than 21, right?! And they are top-rack dishwasher safe, and so cute!! Also, I had a little paint left so I decided to stencil my casserole dish! See?

Casserole Dish

Once it was cooked and cured, the colors popped a little more. You can see the difference between the blue and grey better, I think.

IMAG0292

So there they are! I love them, and I will love them even more when I can use them! It really is the small things that make a big difference. I have some more small things planned in the near future for this drab little place!

Click here to see where I will be linking!

Have a great day!

-Kirsten

This entry was published on January 22, 2013 at 7:17 pm. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Small Improvements

  1. Diana Rambles on said:

    I’ve seen stencils like this and it looks so easy! I wanna try it!

  2. ooh i love the glasses! they look lovely!

  3. Oh I am totally going to try this! I have acid etched some glasses, which was super easy, but I like the way that you can use color with this process! Thanks for sharing I just love it!

  4. Cool idea – I must try this!
    Thanks for sharing – have a blessed week!
    Stacey of Embracing Change

  5. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. on said:

    Oh how cool!

Leave a Reply

