Made For A King

Paint can fix anything!

I had a lovely three day weekend, and two awesome projects to show for it!

The first was a large picture frame that I have had for years. I got it for Christmas when I was still in high school, and it started out black. When we moved from West Virginia, it did not do so well in the back of the moving truck. There was a large hole, and a couple of cracks when I got it back.

I decided that paint could only help! I figured that it might camouflage the problems, and I was right. They are hardly noticeable! I forgot to take a before picture, but here is the after:

chevron picture frame!

You can hardly see the hole on the bottom right side!

It took forever to paint those chevron stripes, but it was fun and I like how it turned out! I used ASCP Old White and French Linen.

 

The second project I did this weekend was paint the back of the bookshelf we just bought! This is the before:

bookshelf before

I wanted to paint the entire bookshelf, but my husband and I compromised and I am glad, because I think I like it better this way. First I painted the back panels white using ASCP Old White.

painted white

Then I used a stencil I got from AC Moore and ASCP Florence and the cutest little paint roller from Lowes and painted the stencil pattern.

stencil process

Using one of my small artistic paint brushes, I fixed all of the little mistakes and it looked perfect. Then we put it back on the bookshelf and upright in the corner and it looks great!

bookshelf

I think everything really pops with the color and pattern behind it. Also, all of my black picture frames and dark decorative items can be seen now! They really blended before.

after!

So I had a very productive weekend, and every little project I complete makes this place feel a little more like a home 🙂

Click here to see where I’m linking, and have a great day!!

-Kirsten

This entry was published on January 29, 2013 at 9:26 pm. It’s filed under Before & After, Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Paint can fix anything!

  1. looks fabulous, love how you did the back!

  2. Gorgeous!! I love that stencil and the color you chose.
    Ruth

  3. Love this Kirsten! So glad I stumbled upon your blog! I have a built in and have been going back and forth whether to do a pattern…this is great color & inspiration! Would love for you to share at the party tonight! xo bridgett

    http://www.osiemoats.com/2012/07/thursday-linky-party-1.html

Leave a Reply

